Beauty Pageant Judge?

I had the opportunity to judge a beauty pageant this past Saturday.  I knew that my wife had been asked to judge and I planned on going anyway.  My usual role at these (and most other events) is as a photographer.  I got a call on Friday night about 5pm and they had a judge that was ill and needed a fill in.
Pride of Montpelier Pageant
Having a wife that was the state director for a pageant and having been a pageant parent they figured I was up to the job.  I agreed and was emailed the bio sheets and photos to judge photogenic.  I had my wife drive for a few hours on the way to OH so I could go over the information and judging sheet.  I must admit that being a pageant judge was a little more difficult than I thought.  I’ve sat in the audience for many pageants and scratched my head wondering why some of my picks were not in the top 10 or top 5.  I now have a little more insight into the judging process and I’m sure there were people in attendance that night who were judging the judging, just as I have done on many occasions.

The Pride of Montpelier Pageant was a very organized pageant and it was difficult to make a final decision.  The contestants were all great and I wanted all of them to get a prize.  In the end there is only one winner per category.  I have read it and heard it but ultimately the interview really does make or break a contestant.  So next time I’m sitting in the audience and want to criticise the judges I will have to think twice because I don’t know what happened in the hours before when they were meeting with the contestants.

3 thoughts on “Beauty Pageant Judge?

  1. i have a question.. i’m judging a beauty pageant in florida. its my first year judging. they picked me bc i have modeling exp and photography. they ask me to do a bio.. im not sure how to go about doing that. they said short and sweet. got ideas ?

    Like

  2. David, I would like to thank you for the kind words. We try very hard to make our pageant the best that it can be. We also need to thank the people like you that make it possiable, by volunteering your time to come and make our day complete. thanks again for jumping in with both feet at the last minute.

    Jamie
    Miss Director

    Like

Leave a Reply

