Moving WP Blog

I posted a little while back about SEO and WordPress experiments (https://daviddefoe.wordpress.com/2009/01/28/wordpress-vs-own-domain/).  Even though I’ve had better SEO results with keeping a blog on WP I’ve decided to move my restaurant review website to my own server.

I exported the posts from the WP Dashboard and then loged into the WP account on my server and completed the  import.  The entire process was very smooth and I didn’t loose a post.  The only weird thing was that the users were not created on the new account so I had all the posts default to being posted by admin.  I should have duplicated the reviewers first and then did the import.

I haven’t tried to move the domain name yet but I’m hoping that will go just as smooth.

http://defoenet.com/review/

Leave a Reply

