Wake Up People!

Energy drinks and energy supplements are hot right now.  How hot are they?

* More than 300 new energy drinks hit the market in 2007!
* Convenience Store News predicted a 19.9% increase in energy drink sales for 2008 (august 2008 study).
* If energy drinks aren’t yet on your menu or even your radar, consider this eye-popping news: The market for energy-boosting beverages has ballooned by more than 400% over the past five years. Sales have grown from $1.2 billion in 2002 to an estimated $6.6 billion in 2007, according to market-research firm Packaged Facts, which projects that the market will reach $9.3 billion by 2011. (from Restaurants and Institutions Magazine)
* It’s hard to find statistics for energy supplements because they are listed tracked under “sports” supplements even though more and more people are taking them for daily energy.  The energy “sports” supplement market (energy bars, powder and pills) is currently a $8 billion industry and is expected to continue to grow.

I have never been a fan of supplements.  I understand that we are not getting enough nutrition from our food and I’ve tried vitamins in the past but just can’t seem to stay on track with taking even a few supplements each day . . . until now!  I was challenged by a person I met to try a supplement that has rhodiola in it.  I’ve always been the type of person that needs to know what something is before I use/try/take it.  So I looked up rhodiola on Dr. Weil’s website.  Everything sounded good so I gave it a try.

rhodioa

rhodioa

My wife and I were going out of town on a buying (for her store) trip.  These buying shows/conventions can be very tiring.  I figured this would be a great time to test the rhodiola supplement.  I took the supplement for 5 days straight.  I felt good but didn’t think much of it.  After taking the supplement for 5 days I didn’t take any for 2 days.  I realized that I wasn’t as productive and I was back to my usual sluggishness by 5pm in the afternoon.  Once I made this realization I began to take the rhodiola again and the sluggishness went away.

This is great for me but were there other factors at play?  So a co-worker said that her boyfriend has very low energy and wanted to know how she could give him a kick-in-the-butt!  I suggested the rhodiola and gave her a 5 supplement sample.  I suggested that he take them for 5 days and then when they are gone let me know the results 2 days after not taking them.  I didn’t think much of it.  After the experiment she asked me, “how much is the rhodiola I need to get him some.”  She went on to say that even her boyfriends co-workers had commented on how much more energy he had and wondered what he had been doing.

So this more than confirmed the results that I had with rhodiola.  And the cool thing is there are no jitters and no energy crash.  In fact rhodiola is an adaptogenic herb.  What is an adaptogenic herb?  Adaptogenic herbs are plants with properties that exert a normalizing influence on the body, neither over-stimulating nor inhibiting normal body function, but rather exerting a generalized tonifying effect.  Or more specifically, adaptogens recharge the adrenal glands, which are the body’s nominal mechanism for responding to stress and emotional changes.

In another double-blind trial, students consuming 100 mg of rhodiola extract a day for 20 days experienced significant improvements in physical work capacity, coordination, and general well-being, along with less mental fatigue and situational anxiety.  (taken from http://www.healthylivingnyc.com/article/294)

Leave a Reply

